The Council

Hedge End Town Council has grown alongside the town it serves. The Town Council has 21 members elected every four years from seven wards. Eastleigh Borough Council provides services from the civic offices in Eastleigh and via its Local Area Committees. Hedge End is represented by seven borough councillors.

 

The local MP for Eastleigh is currently Mims Davies (Conservative).


Hedge End Town Council is very conscious of its commitment to service delivery, standards and value. Hedge End Town Council has budgeted to achieve efficiency and value, ensuring that the costs are kept to an absolute minimum and benefits can be attained whilst lessening the cost upon the taxpayer.

 

The Town Council strives for excellence in its public service.

 

Within our system of government, Hedge End Town Council is the first tier of local government and is therefore closest to the community. This makes us more able to find out and react to the wishes of our local residents. 

 

Hedge End Town Council operates as a three-way partnership between its elected members, its officers, and its residents. We all work together for the common good of Hedge End.

 

There are democratic structures within Hedge End Town Council which give all members a chance to take part in making decisions. As there are too many decisions to be made by the whole council sitting together, most decisions are farmed out to Committees.

 

All meetings take place in the Town Council Offices, on the top floor of the 2000 Centre, St John's Road.

Hedge End Full Council

Most of the decisions made by committees are only recommendations and do not become Council decisions until they have been ratified by Council as a whole. Other decisions are deemed to be too important or too urgent to be farmed out and they are also made at Full Council Meetings.

 

Council meets, usually on the 3rd Wednesday of each month at 7.30pm. The meetings are fairly formal - ruled by Standing Orders - and nobody is allowed to speak until invited by the Chair.

 

That being said, the meetings are very friendly and members of the public are encouraged to take part.

 

Full Council Meeting Minutes can be viewed on our website, click here.

 

 

Hedge End Councillors

Freegrounds Ward

 

Margaret Allingham (Chair)

Liberal Democrat

Email: margaret.allingham@hedgeend-tc.gov.uk

Phone: 01489 798646

 

Register of Members' Interests

 

 

 

 

Helen Corben

Liberal Democrat

Email: helen.corben@hedgeend-tc.gov.uk

Phone: 01489 692406

 

Register of Members' Interests

 

Shankerlal (Stan) Sthankiya

Liberal Democrat

Email: shankerlal.sthankiya@hedgeend-tc.gov.uk

Phone: 01489 690139

 

Register of Members' Interests

Grange Park East Ward

 

Ian Corben (Vice Chair) 

Liberal Democrat

Email: ian.corben@hedgeend-tc.gov.uk

Phone: 07561 343858

 

Register of Members' Interests

 

Derek Pretty

Liberal Democrat

Email: derek.pretty@hedgeend-tc.gov.uk

Phone: 01489 797213

 

Register of Members' Interests

 

Ben Thomas 

Liberal Democrat

Email: ben.thomas@hedgeend-tc.gov.uk

Phone: 01489 790701

 

Register of Members' Interests

Grange Park West Ward

 

Position Vacant

 

Cynthia Garton

Liberal Democrat

Email: cynthia.garton@hedgeend-tc.gov.uk

Phone: 01489 797213

 

Register of Members Interests

 

Bruce Tennent

Liberal Democrat

Email: bruce.tennent@hedgeend-tc.gov.uk

Phone: 07703 447365

 

Register of Members' Interests 

St Helens Ward

 

Paul Carnell

Liberal Democrat

Email: paul.carnell@hedgeend-tc.gov.uk

Phone: 01489 785216

 

Register of Members' Interests

 

Lucy Jurd

Liberal Democrat 

Email: lucy.jurd@hedgeend-tc.gov.uk

Phone: 07730 072606

 

Register of Members' Interests

 

Chris Yates

Conservative

Email: chris.yates@hedgeend-tc.gov.uk

Phone: 07881 021165

 

Register of Members' Interests

St Johns Ward

 

Stephanie Arnold

Conservative

Email: stephanie.arnold@hedgeend-tc.gov.uk

Phone: 07713 131085

 

Register of Members' Interests

 

Jerry Hall

Conservative

Email: jerry.hall@hedgeend-tc.gov.uk

Phone: 07762 612044

 

Register of Members' Interests

 

Jane Welsh

Liberal Democrat

Email: jane.welsh@hedgeend-tc.gov.uk

Phone: 01489 784962

 

Register of Members' Interests

Shamblehurst Ward

 

Connor Burgess

Liberal Democrat

Email: connor.burgess@hedgeend-tc.gov.uk

Phone: 07468 288630

 

Register of Members' Interests

 

Keith House

Liberal Democrat

Email: keith.house@hedgeend-tc.gov.uk

Phone: 07768 357918

 

Register of Members Interests

 

James (Jim) Mitchell

Liberal Democrat

Email: james.mitchell@hedgeend-tc.gov.uk

Phone: 0800 316 3435

 

Register of Members' Interests

Wildern Ward

 

Georgina Jenks

Conservative Party

Email: georgina.jenks@hedgeend-tc.gov.uk

Phone: 07547 181003

 

Register of Members' Interests

 

John Jupe

Liberal Democrat

Email: john.jupe@hedgeend-tc.gov.uk

Phone: 01489 780293

 

Register of Members' Interests 

 

Cliff Morris 

Liberal Democrat

Email: cliff.morris@hedgeend-tc.gov.uk

Phone: 07848 946822

 

Register of Members' Interests